Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Three years ago when I planted one Concord Grape plant, I never knew what I was in for.
The first two years I struggled with this indeterminate vine and its strange harvest until I consulted with our local “God of Wine”.
He was kind enough to advise this silly gardener about her single vine.
Third time’s a charm they say, and voila! Diane has a grape harvest worthy of jam!

can you smell the heavenly scent?

can you smell the heavenly scent?

a wee bit labor intensive, squeezing the innards out of the skins

a wee bit labor intensive, squeezing the innards out of the skins

knock out flavor and color here

knock out flavor and color here

innards of four pounds of grapes

innards of four pounds of grapes

quick time in the copper pot

quick time in the French copper preserving pan

can you taste this royal essence?

can you taste this royal essence?

Yep, after much hand work in the kitchen this rainy Sunday, I have eight jars of Concord Grape Jam to show for my efforts—
too soon sold to customers who now feel the shift of season and prepare for the cooler months ahead.
These gems of harvest travel near and far to pantry shelves and often find themselves wrapped and gently tucked under Christmas trees
for those foodies who revere this process.

Next up is a batch of Concord Grape Sorbet!

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved