Tags

, , , ,

The following images came from willing yet fleeting creatures who visited my garden yesterday. Kindly view on a large screen for full effect…

slightly tattered Monarch during migration. So glad it found my garden for rest and nectar while on its journey. Monarchs are in dramatic decline.

slightly tattered Monarch during migration. So glad it found my garden for rest and nectar while on its journey. Monarchs are in dramatic decline.

Another Monarch during migration. So nice to share my afternoon with numerous survivors.

another Monarch during migration. So nice to share my afternoon with numerous survivors.

Quite a show today the last day of September

Quite a show today–the last day of September. Pineapple Sage, an annual, has earned a place in all my future gardens…

My first attempt at photographing hummingbirds. They were perfectly poised.

My first attempt at photographing hummingbirds. They were perfectly poised.

Not sure of the botanic name, yet we call this stunner Naked Lady here in Virginia.

Belladonna amaryllis, yet we call this stunner Naked Lady here in Virginia.

Late summer show stopper ~ hyacinth bean.

Late summer show stopper ~ hyacinth bean.

Oh so fragrant tuber rose. a newbie to my garden this year. Why did it take so long to discover?

Oh so fragrant tuberose. A newbie to my garden this year. Why did it take so long to discover?

Queen Ann's Lace. A must for my garden. Have I recited its poem?

Queen Ann’s Lace. A must for my garden. Have I recited its poem?

Have this in your garden? Seeds given to me twelve years ago. Common name Poinsettia Plant.

Have this in your garden? Seeds given to me twelve years ago. Common name Poinsettia Plant.

Loaded with fall berries ~ pyracantha, a real sticker as the genus belongs to the Rose Family, yet showy and berries are bird food.

Loaded with fall berries ~ pyracantha, a real sticker as the genus belongs to the Rose Family, yet showy and berries are bird food.

Sedum family ~ a low succulent plant that I consider bullet proof. A joy in the garden.

Sedum family ~ a low succulent plant that I consider bullet proof. A joy in the garden.

My sexy grape tomatoes continue to produce from its little burlap pot tethered to the raised bed arbor.

My sexy grape tomatoes continue to produce from its little burlap pot tethered to the raised bed arbor.

The smaller the pepper, the hotter. This bird's eye will make you weep!

The smaller the pepper, the hotter. This bird’s eye will make you weep!

A bowl of concord grape sorbet floating in a pool of heavy cream. Grapes from my garden and oh so yummy! The tile is from a local estate sale.

A bowl of concord grape sorbet floating in a pool of heavy cream. Grapes from my garden and oh so yummy! The tile is from a local estate sale.

When I spotted this in a local consignment shop, I had to have it. Turns out it came out of a Charleston garden and is 25 years old. Not sure where it will finally end up in my garden.

When I spotted this in a local consignment shop, I had to have it. Turns out it came out of a Charleston garden and is 25 years old. Not sure where it will finally end up in my garden.

Another detail of my new garden ornament.

Another detail of my new garden ornament.

The only pink that I tolerate in my gardens. Muhly grass, a real show stopper during late afternoon, covered in dew or frost. An easy keeper too.

The only pink that I tolerate in my gardens. Muhly grass, a real show stopper during late afternoon, or early morning covered in dew or frost. An easy keeper too.

Nearby vista of central Virginia farmland. Notice the speck of gliding hawk in the distance.

Nearby vista of central Virginia farmland. Notice the specks of gliding hawks in the distance.

a telling proverb

a telling proverb

As summer glides into fall, my heart fills with gratitude for another year in my gardens. Blessed with much rain and bounty, the gardens thrived and most tasks mildly challenging. I added a few specimens, and continue to edit the landscape.
Fall is the time of year when this gardener has time to sit a spell, reflect, and adore the dazzling colors in weeks to come.
I wish you a splendid harvest and hope that you take time to enjoy this precious event.

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved