Tags

, , , , , ,

Ask anyone who knows me or who follows this blog and they will tell you that
I am all about the critters.
Since Miss Kitty’s passing in May of 2011, I turned my critter affection out-of-doors.

Miss Kitty ~ my muse for eleven years

Miss Kitty ~ my muse for eleven years

Over 1100 Monarch butterflies were raised in my Waystation since 2009.

female monarch ready for release

female monarch ready for release

I became an official Bluebird Monitor and host adults as they rear their young.

nestling bluebirds day nine ~ Swallowtail Cottage

nestling bluebirds day nine ~ Swallowtail Cottage

During winter months, I feed, admire, and attempt to photograph
wild birds up close and personal.

handsome woodpecker

handsome red bellied woodpecker

At the local shelter, I volunteer photo time so adoptees
have a better chance at a permanent home…

this pup is showing her holiday stuff at the CASPCA

this pup is showing her holiday stuff at the SPCA

happy holidays and take me home!

happy holidays and take me home!

This season is extra special, as P Allen Smith and Berry Family Nurseries
are offering to send assorted holiday greenery to the winning blogger’s charity.
This is Allen’s Holiday Cheer Challenge, and I need your vote to win!

Here’s the deal. Allen’s people will post this post (and many others) to his Pinterest Holiday page and the most number of likes or Pins will win the prize for the blogger’s charity. I am choosing Caring For Creatures, as this fabulous no-kill sanctuary could use the festive greenery for all visitors and staff to enjoy.
So if you have a Pinterest account, please click here to vote http://www.pinterest.com/pallen_smith/holiday-ideas/
Voting ends December 9.

chocolate spice wreath from P Allen Smith's Holiday Collection

chocolate spice wreath from P Allen Smith’s Holiday Collection

Styled with additional seed bells for the wild birds

styled by moi with additional seed bells for the wild birds

During December, I will be wrapping gifts at Barnes & Noble Bookstore, Barracks Road Shopping Center. Many volunteers will be there raising funds for both the CASPCA and Caring for Creatures. Stop by!

See, it is all about the critters this holiday season
here at Swallowtail Cottage! Thanks for your vote
and Happy Holidays!

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved