Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I wanted a quick evening meal. Out in the garden, I cut spinach. From the fridge I pulled kale, and from the pantry a 15 OZ can of Cannellini beans.

I began by rinsing the kale and spinach. Into the steamer went the torn kale for three minutes. Then, on top of the kale, went the spinach for two.

Meanwhile drain the can of cannellini beans.

Next I removed the steamer basket from the pan and chopped the veggies coarsely.

In the same pan empty of water, I placed three tablespoons each of sweet butter and olive oil over medium heat to melt.

Then I plopped in the beans, chopped veggies, sea salt and heated them briefly.

Immediately placed in a small serving bowl, I added fresh chive flowers, sliced almonds, and a couple chunks of cherve. Deelish! Serves two.

(The butter makes a smooth creamy little sauce.)

I enjoyed this as a humble, healthy meal, yet it could make a handsome side for those who eat larger meals aside a slab of grilled salmon.

Bon Appetit!

Copyright © 2012 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved