Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The mighty, yet oh-so-fragile monarch butterfly has begun its annual migration. This pattern is critical for the survival of this species, and I help where I can. Four years ago I took a course on monarchs and to date raised over one thousand. The Monarch Waystation section of my garden is filled with host plants that attract monarch females where they lay eggs. This garden also supplies essential nectar for their long journey to Mexico.

newly emerged Monarch tasting nectar for the first time

Here on the ground, I collect, feed, protect larvae and release adult butterflies. Since few folks actually observe the transition of the monarch from larva to pupa stage, I thought I would share recent photos. These delicate creatures are fascinating and I glow with pride when a minute egg transitions into the marvelous monarch under my care. These beauties are endangered, as merely 3 to 4 eggs out of one hundred would survive in the wild without help from monitors.  Please enjoy!

Remember to slide your mouse over these images for further captions. Click to enlarge any image.
These larvae and pupa are seen attached to the roof of the lettuce container, where they finish their cycle in the safety of indoors.

A hardened chrysalis is hanging on the left of new pupa and in fourteen days it will hatch into a magnificent monarch. So goes the cycle.

Too learn more, please click on this link to see more images from last year’s monarch season: https://dianelasauce.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/the-thing-about-monarchs/

Stella, my curious neighbor learns about the wonders of Monarchs in my gardens

giggles with the flutterbies

 

Copyright © 2012 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved