Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Instincts are magical. Intuition is a driving force. Little voices that inspire can be subtle or hit us over the head.
I cherish the kitty head bump instincts and have finally learned to hire muscle when I need to address the larger-than-life projects. As Gershwin wrote, “you can’t get a man with a gun”, yet a few hundred dollars and a three hours of man power can create memorable landscape transformations.

plain Jane garden path entrance

plain Jane garden path entrance and dormant turf

The little voice hit me over the head last week when I strolled the winter garden and gazed down the front path—a path that has been in place since September 11th.
This voice whispered “too narrow” and I replied “OK” and proceeded to tack string outlining the sod to be removed.
Editing lawns is one of my favorite garden chores, as I loathe any tasks associated with it, especially when forced to mow during high humidity and triple digit temperatures. Virginia is not the place to have turf and I have given in to most any weed that thrives there.

other end of narrow path

other end of narrow path

pathetic attempt by moi to remove dastardly sod

pathetic attempt by moi to remove dastardly sod

muscle at work

hired muscles at work

wider path

wider path

finished path hurrah!

finished path, hurray!

After my hired muscles finished this simple path, I lead them around to the side yard to install/reuse the hideous black plastic edging from the front project. This is my gazillionth attempt to conquer the slope dramatically eroded by recent heavy rains—

Ouch!  following heavy rains

Ouch! following heavy rains

ongoing attempt to soothe Mother Nature

ongoing attempt to soothe Mother Nature

OMG!

OMG!

rock is the solution

rock is the solution

two small boxwood and blue princess moved

two small boxwood and blue princess moved

burning bush transplant nearly broke backs

burning bush transplant nearly broke backs

Following the muscle departure, I raked, watered, and tidied the disturbed areas. Next week I must don my mulchqueen hat and tuck these shrubs in for the their next chapter.

As a reward, this morning I treated myself to a carb/maple syrup/buttery pop-over breakfast before I dressed for my morning stroll.

quick Sunday breakfast

quick Sunday breakfast

comfort food

comfort food

What garden accomplishments are you most proud?

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved