Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

As hard as I try to wean myself away, chocolate is my vice. At times I manage to distance myself from the stuff, yet always manage to fine the path back. Now, I don’t consume mass branded chocolate bars, yet consume the 60% up variety at least once per week.
With a fresh container of Fage yogurt in my fridge this week, and no chocolate in the house but cocoa, here is what I concocted with much success.
Two of my foodie friends agreed, this is worth sharing:

A delicious brand that lent itself to manipulation

a delicious brand that lent itself to manipulation

Found pantry ingredients

found pantry ingredients

First finished version with dollops of local lavender honey ice cream

first finished version with dollops of local lavender honey ice cream

second version layered between heavily whipped organic cream

second version layered between heavily whipped organic cream

shouldl mention the light meal with thinly sliced roasted chicken thighs and fresh fennel

should mention the light meal with thinly sliced roasted chicken thighs and fresh fennel

Recipe for Diane’s Guilt Free Dessert:

To begin, add one container (500g) Fage yogurt to a mixing bowl and add 1/2C dark (grade B) maple syrup or organic agave, 1/2C dark rum (optional), and 2 heaping T of cocoa powder, unsweetened. Gently fold all together until well incorporated. Chill for 2-4 hours before serving as shown above. One container will serve 4. What could be simpler? This keeps in the fridge too, for smaller households or when not entertaining, except yourself! Stir before serving.
To all of you chocolate lovers out there, kindly let me know what you think about this recipe. Should we feel any guilt over this silky concoction?

PS I actually like this dessert best without the rum. If you omit the rum, I add a 1/4 C. of almond milk to thin out the consistency. I promise, you chocolate lovers out there will LOVE this delightful concoction. Promise!

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved