Tags

, , , ,

This time of year there is a subtle shift…the sun is in a different location.
Gardeners spend so much time planning for spring, that summer slips right in.
Time for harvest, time for county fairs, time for blissful naps in the hammock.

time to crack the jam cookbooks

time to crack the jam cookbooks

This morning as I guided my little wheelbarrow around the gardens
before the sun rose,
before the dew dried,
I noticed how swollen the grapes;
how fragrant the lambs ear as I trimmed off spent blossoms,
how quiet the landscape before bees awaken.
The gentle burble of the Bluebird’s call,
the racking squawk of Mary Mockingbird,
and how different from the low coo of the Robin;
I catch myself thinking of fall!
And harvest!
And bounty!
And preserves!

plump local plums ready for jam

plump local plums ready for jam

the path to righteousness

the path to righteousness

local, just picked blackberries called for immediate attention on Sunday

local, just picked blackberries called for immediate attention on Sunday

whirling divine

whirling divine

the last five cups went into this blackberry cobbler

the last five cups went into this blackberry cobbler

Swallowtail Cottage is filled with heavenly aromas
as the process begins…

freshly capped jars ready for market

freshly capped jars ready for market

plum jam ready for lables

plum jam ready for labels

a dosing dove sits just outside my kitchen door, perhaps enjoying the aromas

a dozing dove sits just outside my kitchen door, perhaps enjoying the aromas

peaches, nectarines, and plums, oh my!

peaches, nectarines, and plums, oh my!

same beekeeper, just left jar is summer honey and right jar is spring honey.

same beekeeper; the jar on the left is summer honey and the jar on the right is spring honey. Either way divine!

Sending blessings for a wonderful harvest season.

Copyright © 2013 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved