Tags

, , , ,

new beginnings. An uncommon bramble replaces the Little Gem. Easier on this gardener.

new beginnings. An uncommon bramble ground cover replaces the Little Gem magnolia ~ easier on this gardener.

Yes, another national holiday in the USA came and went. At least Southern States was open for a few hours that morning. I headed over to collect three special orders of plant material and “take advantage” of their sale day. The three new Prague viburnum will replace the old, thorny, ugly Pyracantha,

Sunny by Knock Out is a gem in my garden. Easy care, yet requires daily deadheading.

Sunny by Knock Out is a gem in my garden. Easy care, yet requires daily deadheading. She was pressured by Japanese Beetles this season…

I did not blog during August, as it is my most dreaded month of the year. Heat and humidity rise to criminal heights in August yet I found myself painting and staining many outdoor surfaces. Grunt work to say the least. And copious amounts of perspiration. Ugh!
I also updated my automobile, and decided to protect my investment by designing/building a carport. Following three weeks of design, research and design changes, the structure was built this week.

newer wheels for the key lime pie maker...

newer wheels for the key lime pie maker…

Also during August, I had a Little Gem magnolia, an Hinoki, and three huge Pyracantha removed from my landscape.
The magnolia was too close to the lower patio and was constantly messy and broke whenever there was heavy, wet snow.
The Hinoki, which I adored, became the go to place for bagworms, and they won. I abhor spraying therefore Hinoki went to tree heaven when the chipper was visiting.
The three, huge pycanthia were hammered by wet snow last year and became an eyesore very quickly. My arborist made quick mulch from them in a mere forty-five minutes. Gone.

Now more eye candy…

Forty year old floribunda emerges in her new location, albeit tiny.

Forty year old floribunda emerges in her new location, albeit tiny.

Now to recover, replant, and renew — this summer turned out the be the summer of rejuvenation…check out my new carport in the next blog…

Welcome fall! Yay and phew!

Copyright © 2014 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved