Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Life and death are one thread;
the same line viewed from different sides.

~ Lao Tzu

One of my closest friends departed life this week. I still fail to grasp this fact. Facing each health challenge bravely, determined to love life unconditionally, and supported by her closest friends, she met her end on her own terms — with dignity and love.  Sidelined by a freak viral bronchitis, I was not able to be at her bedside as she passed. This makes our afternoon country outing, two weeks before, even more memorable. Too soon gone!

as we find out paths in life, love intervenes and inevitable loss.

as we find our paths in life, love intervenes, and so does inevitable loss.

P1030751

as I drove rural lanes yesterday, taking the slow way home, nature seemed to reach out and embrace me with breathtaking color and brilliant sky

P1030752

as I rounded a curve, this maple popped to say, as my leaves depart, they wish to make your day joyful!

P1030754

hues this vibrant in November are unusual indeed

P1030756

then round a few more curves, I nearly drove of the road, as I gasped. In fact I turned around a few times and risked being rear-ended to get this shot

P1030763

back on a wider path of road, more maples popped from between the sycamores and tulip poplars, draped with dazzling color

a pair of old persimmon trees, full of fruit, will be perfect following the first hard frost, if one braves the traffic. I imagine birds will have the best feast.

a pair of old persimmon trees, full of fruit, will be perfect following the first hard frost, if one braves the traffic. I imagine birds will have the best feast.

taking liberties with this shot's edits to create a painterly vista

taking liberties with this shot’s edits I created a painterly vista

P1030764

nearly home, this time, an ox-blood hue catches my eye

P1030765

these trees were planted by nature, not man, making the display ever more poignant

the dogwood appeared to be on fire this day

back home, the resident dogwood appeared to be on fire this day

November hydrangea never fails to deliver color

Oakleaf hydrangeas never fail to deliver saturated color during November

P1030772

my landscape comforted me with much appreciated light, reflections, and memorable color. This was to be the last day before hard frost, finishing the magical displays and creating rake work in days ahead.

Life is unequalled.
Love is unparalleled.
Loss is the toll we pay to experience it all.

May your day be filled with life, your Thanksgiving filled with love, and may loss be away on holiday.

Copyright © 2014 by Diane LaSauce All Rights and Images Reserved