Tags

, , ,

still buried here at Swallowtail Cottage

still buried in the white stuff here at Swallowtail Cottage

I admit, this winter tests my patience.
E-v-e-r-y single indoor project is complete.
Numerous recipes are tested.
Too much buttered popcorn and Irish whiskey consumed.

popovers made with organic coconut milk...and experiment that worked

popovers made with organic coconut milk…an experiment that worked

The new No-Kenad Brioche recipe from Cook's Illustrated blew the competition out of the water...

the new No-Knead Brioche recipe from Cook’s Illustrated blew the competition out of the water…

Too many cold days and LONG nights decorated with additional frozen rain and bonus snow ~ February was the sixth coldest on record for Central Virginia.

The baby Crimson Japanese maple delights this day

the baby Crimson Japanese maple delights this day

I fed a dozen nearly frozen Bluebirds (and various others) my custom bird food, made from WF bulk department (organic hulled sunflower seeds, currants, cranberries, and TJ’s sunflower seed oil, all spun in a food processor.) I spend more on their food than on mine…
Piles of books and Fine Gardening magazines were perused. I learned a lot.

I fell in love with a new kale ~ a must in my daily morning smoothies

I fell in love with a new organic kale ~ a must in my daily morning smoothies, its name is as pretty as its habit…Lacinato and it is an heirloom variety.

Enough already.
Although my garden is still buried under the white stuff, I want to take you back to a previous blog post…one that promises garden delights from Swallowtail Cottage.
THINK SPRING!!!
If you reside in Boston or more northerly USA parts, my condolences and special wishes go out to you. Every one of you deserves a medal. I wager in nine months an uptick in Boston area births will go on record too…congratulations!
On to the eye candy:

https://dianelasauce.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/flowers-that-bloom-in-the-springfa-la/

That’s all this winter weary gardener can muster today. Right now it is a sunny 45 degrees fahrenheit, so I am headed out to a bright corner on the lower patio, where I can sunbathe and daydream…would love to hear from you. See you on the other side…

Copyright © 2015 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved