Tags

, , , , ,

The date is March 29. Following one day of temperatures in the 70’s, the forsythia is beginning to bloom, the Tete a Tetes are up, and this lady gardener is more than ready to begin the 2015 growing season.

These petite daffs are my favorite early spring bloomers

These petite daffs are my favorite early spring bloomers.

My raised beds groomed for spring/summer crops.  New cattle panels will support snow peas and other climbing edibles

My raised beds are groomed for spring/summer crops. Newly installed cattle panels will support snow peas and other climbing edibles.

Clean straw creates tidy path between rows

Clean straw creates a tidy path between rows.

Heirloom catnip is snuggled under row cover to ward off the blasted and persistent flea beetles.

Heirloom catnip is snuggled under row cover to ward off the blasted and persistent flea beetles. This catnip variety is a cash crop for lucky kitties.

Another of my favoite early spring bloomers...hellebore

Another of my favorite late winter/early spring bloomers…hellebore.

"Tiny" the 40 YO floribunda is in her new location for the second season, now protected from browsing rabbits.

“Tiny” the 40 YO floribunda is in her new location for the second season, now protected from browsing rabbits.

This is a serious cleat within the high tension wire aloft the split rail fence. This devised for the anticipation of the new Arctic Kiwi fruit later this season.

This is a serious cleat within the high tension wire aloft the split rail fence. This solution was devised in anticipation of the newly planted Arctic Kiwi fruit harvest later this season.

Following yesterday's gaerden accident (my helper fell off his ladder and landed on me, severely spraining my left ankle). Hardly the condition to be in one week before market season begins! At least I can polish my exposed nails while I wait!

Following yesterday’s garden accident (my helper fell off his ladder and landed on me, severely spraining my left ankle.) Hardly the condition to be in one week before market season begins! At least I can polish my exposed nails while I wait!

So go the everyday challenges of life. Observation of wild birds, the greening turf, the appearance of blooming bulbs, and the promise of harvest all nudge me toward an optimistic presence.

Happy spring to all my followers and thanks again for your interest in my little life here in Central Virginia, USA. Would love to hear from you. Cheers!

Copyright © 2015 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved