Tags

, , , , , , , ,

a photo of me during my design days...

During the years I worked as a residential interior designer, most of the fabric houses had what they coined the kiss system…attached to the main sample were smaller flags of complimentary fabrics, often making the selection process simple. The acronym translated, “keep it simple, stupid.” These days, I would prefer to drop the last s, as stupid is not accurate, nor kind. Yet, I digress…

Since 2000, I wandered into the world of food, where keeping things simple continues to be paramount. Needless to say, I never offered wedding cakes as part of my repertoire. As owner of a one-woman operation, my mission is: “respect the earth, create memorable food.” Additionally my steadfast slogan is: “there is a fine line between order and chaos,” and the kiss system is still as effective today as it was during the last decade.

springtime has simple written all over it...

springtime has simple written all over it…

As temperatures rise, my appetite declines and I seem to crave cool, easy, no-brainer (stupid?) recipes. If you follow my posts regularly, the last was about chocolate gelato…today, my recipe is even more simple…

Remember the Dreamsicle? Recently, I began craving this flavor and created the following in a matter of minutes:

begin by adding one can of full fat organic coconut milk and one can of organic frozen orange juice, to a blender...

begin by adding one can of full fat organic coconut milk and one can of organic frozen orange juice to a blender…

add both cans to the blender with 1/4 up of sugar and whirl...

add the contents of both cans to the blender with 1/4 up of sugar and whirl…

pour this into a loaf pan or glass cold-proof container and freeze...

pour this into a loaf pan or glass cold-proof container and freeze (shown here with cream floated on top after orange is frozen)…this can be then scooped OR

OR slice the frozen orange gelato and serve with a pretty garnish...

slice the frozen orange gelato and serve with a pretty garnish…no sticks necessary!

When orange is first frozen, add a half-inch layer of heavy whipping cream to the top and freeze again. This is super right out of the freezer, as the coconut milk keeps the texture smooth and not too hard to scoop. Slices make for a nice presentation.

June in Louisa County

June in central Virginia

OK, is this wee recipe something you might try during these steamy, soon to be summer days?

Happy summer and be safe!

If you have a minute, leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Copyright © 2015 by Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved