Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Fall arrived right on time, yet I did not want to let summer bounty slip by without sharing numerous market images, taken this month. Enjoy!

Attending a local farmer’s market as a vendor or as a customer, is a very special event. It is a community who follows the seasons with dedication and appreciation. It is a place for sharing and educating; coaxing the senses away from the routine — nudging compassion to full fruit.

outrageous mushrooms from our local schroom man

outrageous mushrooms from our local shroom man. Freshness like this is only found at your local farmer’s market!

First time I raised Lilliput melons this year...delicious, yet plant had mighty fungal issues

2015 was the first time I raised Sakata’s Lilliput melons…delicious beyond words, yet the plants had mighty fungal issues. The melons did not go to market, but I had to show them off here.

showstopping sunflowers

showstopper sunflowers

the first Crenshaw squash appears at market

the first Crenshaw squash appears at market in September

dazzling peppers!

dazzling peppers!

scallions anyone?

scallions anyone?

vibrant eggplant appears to glow in the morning light!

vibrant eggplant appear to glow in the morning light!

calories don't count on weekends!

calories don’t count on weekends!

this fabulous bread is baked in a outdoor wood oven!

this fabulous bread is baked in an outdoor wood oven!

coffee makes the world go round, and this vendor peddles his way to market

coffee makes the world go round, and this vendor peddles his way to market

I could not resist this image. An enviable braid.

I could not resist this image ~ an enviable braid

Toddlers make great subjects as they free flow through the market

toddlers make great subjects as they free-flow through the market

This young man may have a modeling career in his future

this young man may have a modeling career in his future

I could not resist capturing this tender moment between father and child

a tender moment between father and infant

of course I had to plug my famous key lime pie. The banner drove sales higher this season

lastly, I shamelessly plug my famous key lime pie. The banner drove sales higher this season, quoting what customers named my pie back in 2005. 

October’s end marks the culmination of my fifteenth season as a vendor at the largest farmer’s market in central Virginia. If I had an inkling of what I would become when I left a professional life in DC, and returned to my small hometown, I would have fallen over laughing. Life has a way of throwing curve balls, and one must dodge and roll to stay in the game. home, garden, life is my testament.

Happy fall, dear followers. I always enjoy hearing from you in the comments section.

Copyright © 2015 By Diane LaSauce All Rights Reserved